Swedish Steel Prize: +46 243 71003
If you have other questions regarding Swedish Steel Prize, please send them to
Event responsible
Anna Rutkvist
Project Manager Swedish Steel Prize
Viktoria Karsberg
Director External Communications
Share this page on:

The Swedish Steel Prize

The Swedish Steel Prize is the only international award for ideas and products that have an impact on future steel solutions, and it attracts competitors from across the world.

For nearly 20 years, the Swedish Steel Prize has recognized and rewarded small and large companies, as well as institutions and individuals for developing an innovative method or product that utilizes the full potential of high-strength, wear resistant and other premium steels.

The jury is looking for entries that really stand out and inspire in the way that they benefit from the full potential of these advanced steels. Over the years, entries to the competition have showcased significant improvements of products enabled by upgrading to higher-strength or wear resistant steels. Entries have also been received where premium steels replace other materials in a truly innovative way.

An independent, professional jury assesses each entry based on its level of innovation, creativity, environmental benefits, performance, applicability and. Those benefiting from new trends within the economy, digitalization and sustainability are especially valued. We really look forward to seeing entries that represent the highest level of creativity and out of the box thinking. It does not matter if the product is still at the beginning of its journey and not in full production, or if it utilizes steel directly from SSAB. All entries meeting the criteria are welcome.

A two-day event

The announcement of the winning entry is a major highlight at the Swedish Steel Prize awards gala in Stockholm, but there is a lot more to it than that. The Swedish Steel Prize is actually a two-day event packed with knowledge, inspiration and opportunities to meet professionals from a wide range of fields that work with steel.

Why we founded the Swedish Steel Prize

The Swedish Steel Prize was founded in 1999 with the aim to inspire. It offers a glimpse of the endless potential of high-strength steel when put to full use by creative engineers, designers and inventors.

The prize was founded by SSAB as an international award with the aim of attracting applicants from across the world. Almost 20 years later, we can safely say that it has achieved this goal, with finalists coming from every continent – except Antarctica.

When it was founded, the prize sought to encourage all trailblazers, big or small, to show the way toward new innovations – something that is still true today.

Although the Swedish Steel Prize is owned by SSAB, it is open to everyone and has the vision of taking the steel industry to the next level.

The Jury

Jan-Gunnar Persson

Professor emeritus

Professor Emeritus in Machine Design at KTH Royal Institute of Technology. Industrial experience from Atlas Copco strategic development and from structural design. Research co-operation with major Swedish companies. Currently consultant and Technical expert for EU.

Lennart Bergqvist

MSc, Consultant

MSc of Machine Design and Management Consultant with experience from world leading industries, such as Scania, Volvo Construction Equipment and SSAB.

Sture Hogmark


Professor of Materials Science and Tribology at Uppsala University. In his research, generally performed in co-operation with major Swedish companies, he focuses on steel and its use in structures, tools and engines.

Jan-Olof Sperle

Professor emeritus PhD

Professor Emeritus in Lightweight Construction at KTH Royal Institute of Technology and Uppsala University. Consultant in material, structural design and strategic development. Member of the Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences, IVA.

Claes Magnusson

Professor emeritus

Professor of Materials Processing. Has held a tenured position at LuleƄ University of Technology, marketing manager positions in the steel industry and as manager of R&D stamping and joining in the automotive industry.

Annika Stensson Trigell


Professor in Vehicle Dynamics at KTH Royal Institute of Technology. Chairman of the Arena for Strategic Partnership KTH - Scania, senior advisor to the KTH Transport Platform and board member of the Forum for Transport Innovation.
Steel prize Peter Wallin

Peter Wallin

Program director

Program director for strategic innovation program PiiA (Process Industrial IT and Automation). Adjunct senior lecturer at Mälardalen university. Holds a PhD in computer science. Has been responsible for the research project portfolio at Volvo Construction Equipment.

Anna Öhrwall Rönnbäck


Professor in Product Innovation at Luleå University of Technology. Guest professor at Linköping University where she founded the Center for Applied Management for Small and Medium-sized Enterprises. Chairman of the Product Development Academy.

Eva Petursson

Chairman of the jury

Head of Strategic R&D, Group Technology at SSAB.